Posted by: tanjawestwood | September 12, 2008

Stampin’ Up Cupcakes

I have been racking my brain these past few days. I was speaking to a future hostess on what type of card she would like for her make and take @ her workshop and she mentioned that she will be making a big pile of cupcakes and on her invite she ask people to come for someone cupcakes and craft….well I said without thinking…maybe I could design a cupcake card…needless to say Doreen loved the idea. When I got off the phone and rummaging through my stamps, I realised I had no cupcake stamps… so I got thinking and this is a scrapbooking layout using the same cupcakes I plan to use for the card….what do you think??

I know the photo is blurry but I did this layout as a part of a challenge on http://www.theboxx.scrapboxx.com/ to use an old, not so good photo. …I don’t have many pictures with both of the kids and I so even though it’s not perfect it’s special.

Now the cupcakes where fun to make….Here’s how I did it.

I started out by stamping my “base” pattern stamp, I used the Always set from the Spring Mini and then punching it out with a Stampin’ Up! tab punch.

Then I trimmed it in half to create the base.

 Now for the cupcake top. I used the edge of the cardstock to my advantage (save me trimming it later), but if you are after more than one cupcake, punch out a whole scallop circle and cut in half..

  So then to create the icing on the top I used a Versamark Ink Refill and embossed with white powder. I used the refill instead of the Versamark pad as I wanted to get a thicker real to life effect. It came out great…Just warn you to have a pair of tweezers or something to hold the paper as it blows right off table and it will burn your fingers if you hold it.

 Now for the cherry on top. Using the Tart and Tangy set from the Spring mini, I applied red and abit of brown to just a portion of the stamp using Stampin’ write markers and then punched out the cherry with a 1/2″ circle (I love this punch and it’s only $11.50!)

Then I just put the top and bottom together and stuck the cherry on with a Stampin Dimensional. Done.

I hope you get to have a go at this as it was so fun or if you wish to maybe make a cupcake card @ a workshop of your own please feel free to contact me. I better get going and hang the towels out..yay! Till tomorrow enjoy your Friday.

Tan

Responses

  1. Wow! Tanja, you are so creative. I would never have come up with that! Love it.

  2. How clever! I love your cupcakes, thanks also for the instructions – I was wondering how you got the ‘icing’ to look so good 🙂

  3. Wow that icing looks like you could eat it! Super imagination there Tanja. Cheers, Sue

  4. wow this is awesome! Now I just gotta get the punches! I love cupcakes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

